

MEETING RECAP FOR THE PAULINE NEWMAN IP AMERICAN INN OF COURT WEDNESDAY, MAY 7, 2014



The last Inn meeting of the 2013-2014 Inn year was the Annual Dinner Meeting, which took place in Ruth's Chris Steak House in the Crystal City area of Arlington County, Virginia, where the U.S. Patent & Trademark Office used to be located before it moved to Alexandria. There is a magnificent view of the Potomac River from the restaurant, which was the place to go when the PTO was located in Crystal City. Many of the Masters of the Inn are familiar with both the restaurant and its vicinity. The meeting lasted from 6:00 p.m. to 9:00 p.m., and was mainly taken up by the dinner and socializing, but there also was some business transacted.

President Judge Liam O'Grady made introductory remarks. He thanked various officers and members of the Inn for their services to the Inn.

The following awards were given by the Pauline Newman IP American Inn of Court:

The <u>Pauline Newman Inn of Court</u>
<u>Distinguished Presentation Award</u> went to
the Pupilage Team lead by Judge Jason
Morgan and including Walter Kelley, Robert
Burns, William Stoffel, Chineye Okafor,



Matthew Duescher, William Cheng, Richard Zhu and Kristan Lansbery, for their March 2014 presentation of *Get Shorty* regarding trade secrets, competition and representation.

The <u>Pauline Newman Inn of Court Student Service to the Inn Award</u> went to Richard Zhu.



The <u>Pauline Newman Inn of</u>
<u>Court Distinguished Service to the Inn</u>
<u>Award</u> went to Judge Hubert Lorin.

Past President Al Tramposch and Chair of the Nominating Committee thanked the current officers for taking care of the Inn, and presided over the election of new officers.



The following officers if the Pauline Newman IP American Inn of Court were elected:

President: Hon. Teresa S. Rea

President-Elect: Judge Hubert C. Lorin

Judicial Counselors Judge Pauline Newman

Judge Richard Linn Judge John Anderson

USPTO Counselors Judge Jay Moore

Judge Glenn Perry

Practitioner Counselor Walt Kelley

Administrator Judge Meredith

Petravick

Secretary Doug Pearson

Treasurer John Williamson

Program Co-Chairs Judge Hung Bui

Erin Dunston

Membership Co-Chairs Rachel Elsby

Judge Lora Green





Social Co-Chairs Steve Swift

James Wilcox

Mentoring & Awards

Co-Chairs

Abby Lin

Judge Jason Morgan

Reporting Chair Will Cheng

Liaison Co-Chairs Bill Stoffel

Elizabeth Dougherty



Judge Pauline Newman was presented with a vase and flowers, in honor of her thirtieth year on the Federal Circuit and three years of the Inn named after her, and made concluding remarks.



Photographs were taken by Doug Pearson Assistant Secretary-Treasurer and David Elliott Sosnowski Liaison Committee Chair

Respectfully submitted,

Stephen Christopher Swift Secretary-Treasurer



